How Social Media helps me to practice my writing skills?

ujjwal bansal
3 min readAug 23, 2021

--

Reading, listening, and writing are modes of expressing our thoughts and ways to communicate with others. It is very well said, “People with the best reading habits have the best usage of the brain”. More and more people on the internet are getting passionate about developing a reading habit but I thought it would be like they are just filling themselves with loads of information. In my opinion, reading helps our brain to develop new ideas, slowly and gradually that information which we put in ourselves helps us to form opinions and thoughts on other work. So Writing becomes a must-have thing in our arsenal through which we can comment on other’s work, present our dislikes and likes to content creators, etc. Another thing that is starting to become popular these days is the idea of Journaling. When we write ideas and thoughts on a piece of paper it gives a better perspective to our brain to think in the right direction. A lot of creators are making content and growing on social media based on emails, comments they are getting on a day-to-day basis through their fans and followers. Another best example of writing is Scientific research papers which I consider a better option than reading books because they contain very up-to-date information with a lot of fact-checking. ,etc.

After preparing my mind to work on my writing skill I start googling different ways for my writing skills. Initially, I tried a lot of methods introduced by different people on the internet but nothing works for me. I find a lot of bugs in online methods. They tell everything from a beginner’s perspective which I hate the most. It is quite frustrating that everything online is divided into 3 major categories Beginner, Intermediate, and Advance. There are many things which can be taught in a general manner i.e, that can work for everyone, no matter from where they are starting. So, I start investigating my daily activities along which I can sync my writing practice. After giving it a thought I came up with one activity in which I and most people are spending a lot of their time is social media applications like YouTube, Twitter, IG, Facebook, Reddit, etc. At this point, I don’t know my skill level. I just want confidence in my writing skill. So, I begin writing comments on YouTube videos(I wrote a lot of them), Slowly I start writing tweets, gradually those one-liners start being replaced by long threads of tweets. As I continue I start writing articles and poetic lines in my regional language Hindi and posting articles in English. Now at this point, my phobia of writing has become a past, and currently, I am working to make my writing more pleasant and try to express myself in very few words. A note which all readers can takeaway is that “If you closely observe I do not focus on English writing but writing as in general like I try to improve English and Hindi(my mother tongue) writing”.

--

--

ujjwal bansal

Propagating a life-changing perspective to everyone is my motive. Writing my own expirences or learnings to empower others.